[REVIEW] Federales | Sam Hawken

federales

Sam Hawken, author of The Dead Women of Juárez, gives Chris Irvin’s debut novella, FEDERALES, a wonderful review! Check out a little bit of it!

One of the benefits of having the tiny bit of writing success I’ve had — besides the money, which is the major benefit — is the opportunity to get freebies. Freebies, freebies, freebies! I love a good freebie. Sometimes you get them just because, but other times there’s a more serious purpose at work, and the latter is the case with Federales, the new novella from Chris Irvin. I was actually asked to read Federales and, if I liked it, provide a small blurb for inclusion on the cover and/or promotional materials.

I’ll admit right up front that I was wary. One of the major downsides to writing success is having lots of really bad work foisted on you from people who want your praise. Tell them it’s good and it’s like a blessing for all their hard work. Tell them it’s bad and they’ll hate you forever. So I held onto Federales for a bit before digging in. I’m pleased to say I didn’t have to worry about giving it poor marks, because it’s quite good. In fact, the day this review appears is the first day it’s available for sale, so why not pick up a copy? Just click the title anywhere. No, not there. Everywhere else.

I’ve had occasion to get acquainted with Irvin, the author, who was kind enough to tell me I’ve “nailed crime in Mexico.” I don’t know if I’ve done that, exactly, but people seem to like my stuff and I’m grateful. I wish I could take some credit for Irvin’s work. Maybe he’ll dedicate his next one to me.

****

Read the entire wonderful review here: [REVIEW] Federales | Sam Hawken.

 

~ by poǝןɔɐɯ uǝʞɔɐɹq on 04/03/2014.

Leave a Reply

 
