The Dangers of Magical Thinking in the Martial Arts

This is perfect! As a lifelong practitioner of combat arts, I’ve seen more than my share of charlatans and frauds. Hell, I trained with a couple before I came to my senses.

Violent metaphors

This post comes courtesy of Jeff Westfall, someone I’ve known and respected as a leader in the martial arts community since I moved to Indiana in 1992. I’m absolutely delighted that he agreed to share his insights into pseudoscience in the martial arts with us. You can read details of his background on his school’s website here. –Jenny

I’m Jeff Westfall for the Martial Brain

Recently on Facebook I saw a video of a Finnish martial artist named Jukka Lampila who called what he did Empty Force or EFO, and claimed that with it he could control an attacker without touching him. His Facebook page proclaims him the founder of EFO. The video begins with clips of Lampila fending off ‘attacks’ from his students. He waves his arms; sometimes he twitches, and in each case the ‘attacker’ seems to be magically thrown to the mat without ever being touched by…

View original post 1,193 more words

~ by poǝןɔɐɯ uǝʞɔɐɹq on 24/02/2014.

Leave a Reply

 
