39th Annual Boston Sci-Fi ‘Thon Report

As usual, my eyes and heart and mind had a wonderful time at the Boston Sci-Fi Fest movie “‘Thon” (the 39th this year), but my ass is broken from sitting in plastic theater seats for 24 hours. Typically, there is a single film that totally tops my holy-shit-that-was-great-o-meter. In years past it was Moon and and then indie film called Dimensions (you can stream on Amazon, but inexplicably, is still hard to find elsewhere). This year, it was a quantum reality mind-trip called Coherence. I felt like I’d gotten my money’s worth at the end of that one! I suppose what all three of those films have in common is a quiet tone and absolute dedication to character and story over spectacle. Either way, as soon as that movie is on sale, I’ll buy the ever-loving shit out of it.


Other modern highlights were a decent found footage film (so sick of that device, however) called Europa Report and an Irish Monster horror/comedy titled, Grabbers. But what got my motor running early was the opportunity to see Yul Brenner as a pre-Terminator unstoppable murdering robot in Westworld. I haven’t seen that film in over 20 years, and never on the big screen! I honestly don’t know why no one’s remade it yet. The 1958 post-apocalyptic film, The World the Flesh and the Devil starring Harry Belefonte was a real surprise treat as was Ray Harryhausen’s First Men in the Moon (which opened the Thon and set the audience participation tone).

There were a couple of clunkers, but they had a comedic appeal, so it was, all told, another great time had by everyone. Although I usually go every other year (to give my ass time to recover), I might have to break that rule to go to the 40th anniversary Thon in 2015.

~ by poǝןɔɐɯ uǝʞɔɐɹq on 17/02/2014.

Leave a Reply

 
