Bus Full of Losers: Very Random Thoughts Four Days Before The Release of My Novel

John Mantooth has a wonderfully introspective account of how it feels to be waiting for his first novel (the brilliant The Year of the Storm — yes, I read an ARC) to hit shelves. I’m going through a little bit of the same as we gear up to release my novel, Mountain Home.

On Tuesday, my first novel hits the shelves.  It’s something I’ve dreamed about for a very long time, certainly since high school, but most likely even before that.  How does it feel?  It feels good, of course.  It feels like I’ve accomplished something.  It feels like the end of a journey, but also the beginning.  I’m anxious, but it’s the kind of anxiety that is a privilege, so I’ll savor it rather than complain about it.  Mostly, I just want the day to come already.

I’m also feeling nostalgic.  Reflective is the best way to put it, I suppose.  I’m thinking about my old house, the little room with the IBM computer, typing away on that fantasy novel that nobody bought (hell, I couldn’t even get an agent to read the thing).  I’m remembering waiting in front of the IBM for an email to pop up that would tell me I had finally made a pro sale.  When it finally did, I felt a momentary twinge of pleasure and got back to work, wondering what it would feel like to sell a novel one day.  I imagined myself running around the house, screaming my head off.  I imagined a release of every tension I’d ever pent up, my eureka moment, my salvation from a world that was increasingly boring and scary to me….

Bus Full of Losers: Very Random Thoughts Four Days Before The Release of My Novel

Read the whole thing here: Bus Full of Losers: Very Random Thoughts Four Days Before The Release of My Novel.

Read my review of The Year of the Storm here.

Buy the book here.

~ by poǝןɔɐɯ uǝʞɔɐɹq on 31/05/2013.

One Response to “Bus Full of Losers: Very Random Thoughts Four Days Before The Release of My Novel”

  1. I saw four real bright lights right in a row on the
    horizon in the northwest sky toward dexter missouri hospital.
    At a time when there have been several interesting pieces of metal found
    in the area that night.

Leave a Reply

 
