You say Gaddafi, I say Qaddafi… let’s call the whole thing off!

Today I received this piece of 419 spam:

I am Mrs. SAFIA FARKASH [who uses a hotmail account, incidentally], wife of late Libyan leader Colonel Muammar
Gaddafi, who was killed by the unfaithful opposition leaders in my country Libya. [That’s one way of putting it.] I am desperately looking for a foreign partner whom I can trust to handle some investment for me.

My Husband deposited the sum of US$65.4m (Sixty five million four hundred Thousand United States Dollars) [Thanks for the clarification] each in my name at two reputable security companies in Africa. I will disclose to you their names as we proceed. I have already left Libya to Algeria. Your assistance will enable us invest this money in your country or any where it will be safe and productive. [I know just the charity: The Bracken MacLeod Hot Chick Bodyguard Fund]

You can as well read more about the crises in my country and about this situation on the following sites

[links purporting to be the Daily Mail and Guardian redacted]

I am waiting for your prompt and positive response.
Mrs. Safia Farkash Gaddafi.

For some reason this just amuses me to no end. Normally the e-mail scammers either appeal to my greed (winning a lottery) or to my sympathy and Christian charity1(I want to donate my late husband’s account to a charity, God bless you!). But appealing to my allegiance to a terrorist supporting dictator is an entirely new one. Rich! I’m guessing the Nigerian scammers don’t quite have a finger on the pulse of American sentiment regarding the Arab Spring.

1 Of which, you know I am possessed of none. Charity, plenty. Christian charity, zilch.

~ by poǝןɔɐɯ uǝʞɔɐɹq on 08/02/2012.

Leave a Reply

 
